Allergen Friendly Worcestershire Sauce is an easy homemade top 9 allergen friendly flavouring. Our Vegan Worcestershire Sauce is also gluten free and free from fish and soy ingredients.
- Why We Like This Recipe
- The Ingredient Low Down
- Instructions/ Directions and Tips
- Substitutions/ Variations / Adaptations
- Like This Recipe? Sign up to our Newsletter so you never miss a recipe.
- Storage and Reheating Instructions
- Top Tip
- What To Serve With
- Other Recipes You May Enjoy
- Have You Made Our Allergen Friendly Worcestershire Sauce? Please Leave a Comment Below.
- Rate our Recipe.
- We Love To Hear From You!
- 📖 Recipe
- Food Safety
- Latest Posts
- 💬 Comments
Why We Like This Recipe
We love this vegan worcestershire sauce recipe because it is an easy sauce to bring a lot of flavour to our meals, safely. It is quick to make this gluten free worcestershire sauce from pantry staples we have on hand. The sauce stores well in the fridge for up to one month. Store bought worcestershire sauce is not safe as it usually contains soy, gluten/wheat, and fish ingredients. In our soy free worcestershire sauce version we mix a flavour as close as we can recreate with alternative ingredients to use as a marinade, beef sauce, and as an ingredient in other recipes.
- Apple Cider Vinegar
- Coconut Aminos
- Brown Sugar
- Ginger, ground
- Onion Powder
- Garlic Powder
- Cinnamon, ground
- Cloves, ground
- Black Pepper, freshly ground
- Turmeric, ground
- Creamed Horseradish
See recipe card for quantities.
The Ingredient Low Down
Apple Cider Vinegar
The best vinegar for this sauce is Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV). It gives it a perfect tang but if it is not safe for you It can be replaced with another vinegar. White wine vinegar, rice wine vinegar, white vinegar (may be made with wheat) or spirit vinegar are all good substitutes for making this sauce. It is the acidity of the ACV that allows the sauce to be kept in the fridge for a month.
In most worcestershire sauces there is a soy ingredient. Either soy sauce or tamarind sauce (made from soy but it can be gluten free) is mixed with the other ingredients. We replaced the usual soy ingredients and replaced them with coconut aminos. The aminos are a fermentation of coconut sap. If coconuts are not safe for you then this ingredient will not be safe either.
While some countries classify coconuts as tree nuts, such as the United States, other countries such as Canada classify coconuts as seeds rather than tree nuts. It is recommended to check with your medical team before adding coconut products to your diet as many are allergic to coconuts. Your medical team is best for judging what will be safest for you.
Brown sugar is basically granulated sugar with molasses. It is important if using this sauce in a vegan dish that the sugar is processed in a way that is vegan. In some countries sugar is still refined with bone char, though this is becoming a less and less common practice it is not considered vegan.
For more information on how most countries refine sugar check out the process at the Canadian Sugar Institute.There used to be some processing that also
Ginger, Onion Powder,Garlic Powder, Cinnamon, Cloves, Black Pepper, Turmeric
All of the spices we use (other than horseradish) are dry and ground. They will provide the longest life for the sauce in the fridge. Substituting for fresh ingredients keep in mind the sauce it will only last in the fridge for a maximum of 3 days.
Another perk of using dry spices is that they are more potent than the fresh versions and you don't need as much. We are starting to see more and more spices packaged on shared lines with top allergens so do always check with the manufacturer.
We replace the spicyness normally from mustard by using horseradish. It is important to use creamed horseradish which is a paste made of horseradish but is dairy free.The creamed is smoother and blends into the sauce well without chunks of spice.
Some horseradish sauces that are use the descrtiption horseradish cream or horseradish mayo. They are not what we use use here. If you cannot find a finely grated horseradish sauce you can use a thicker one. It should sit for 1 hour in the fridge chilling to help blend the flavours to the desired taste.
Instructions/ Directions and Tips
1- In a small pot combine all the ingredients and mix well.
2- Heat the pot over low-medium heat until the sauce bubbles in a boil.
3- Boil for 2 minutes, whisking continuously.
4- Remove from heat and let cool.
5- When cooled using a funnel, pour the allergen friendly worcestershire sauce into a bottle.
6- Close with a lid and store in the fridge.
Hint: Save an old coconut amino bottle and lid to store the Allergen Friendly Worcestershire Sauce in. Wash it out well and let it dry completely before using.
Substitutions/ Variations / Adaptations
- Horseradish and turmeric - replace with ⅛ teaspoon mustard powder if it is safe for you.
- Spicy - add red pepper flakes or hot chilli oil to the sauce to spice it up a bit.
- White Wine Vinegar - the apple cider vinegar can be replaced with white wine vinegar.
Like This Recipe? Sign up to our Newsletter so you never miss a recipe.
To make this gluten free worcestershire sauce recipe you will need a small cooking pot to cook the sauce on the stove. A whisk to stir the liquid as it cooks down is the best utensil for this recipe. Measuring cups and spoons are needed to measure the correct amount of ingredients. To store the worcestershire sauce a funnel is handy to pour the sauce from the pot into the storage container. We prefer to store it in a glass bottle or jar with lid for storage
Storage and Reheating Instructions
In a sealed jar or bottle the Allergen Friendly Worcestershire sauce will keep for up to 1 month.
Freeze in an ice cube tray in regular cube sizes or mini cubes for 24 hours. After they are frozen, pop the cubes out of the trays and into a sealing plastic bag or a sealing container. They will last for up to 3 months frozen, if in a sealed container.
Make this vegan worcestershire sauce a day or two ahead and leave a jar in the fridge before barbecues or as a sauce. Freeze it in cubes to extend the life and blend into tomato juice for brunch Bloody Mary cocktails.
What To Serve With
Vegan Worcestershire sauce goes really well in drinks like a Bloody Mary, mixed with tomato juice. It is also excellent for making the popular holiday nibbly snack Nuts and Bolts. Steaks and red meat, like lamb and beef are very tasty when marinated in mixes that contain allergen friendly worcestershire sauce.
Mix it with tomato ketchup for a zesty sauce or add it when making our Root Beer Barbecue Sauce instead of coconut aminos. It also is fantastic in Au Jus when a dash is added to change the flavour.
Other Recipes You May Enjoy
Allergen Friendly Seasoning Salt
Dairy Free Ranch Dressing and Dip
Have You Made Our Allergen Friendly Worcestershire Sauce? Please Leave a Comment Below.
Rate our Recipe.
We Love To Hear From You!
- Small Pot
- Measuring cups and spoons
- Bottle or jar with lid for storage
- 1 Cup Apple Cider Vinegar
- ½ Cup Water
- ¼ Cup Coconut Aminos
- 2 Tbsps Brown Sugar
- ½ teaspoon Ginger ground
- ½ teaspoon Onion Powder
- ½ teaspoon Garlic Powder
- ¼ teaspoon Cinnamon ground
- ¼ teaspoon Cloves ground
- ¼ teaspoon Black Pepper freshly ground
- ¼ teaspoon Turmeric ground
- ¼ teaspoon Creamed Horseradish
- In a small pot combine all the ingredients and mix well.
- Heat the pot over low-medium heat until the sauce bubbles in a boil.
- Boil for 2 minutes whisking continuously.
- Remove from heat and let cool.
- When cooled using a funnel pour the allergen friendly worcestershire sauce into a bottle. Close with a lid and store in the fridge.
Store in the fridge for up to 1 month.
The horseradish should be just blended horseradish without any dairy or egg ingredients. It is creamy horseradish or creamed horsradish NOT creamy horseradish or horseradish sauce. The turmeric and horseradish can be reolaced with ¼ teaspoon mustard powder, if it is safe for you.
Use this allergen friendly worcestershire sauce in recipes that call for worcestershire sauce such as Nuts and bolts or tomato based cocktail drinks.
- Contact the manufacturer of products, regarding cross contact and ingredients, to ensure they are safe for you
- Always check ingredients for allergens
- Do not use the same utensils on allergen free food, that previously touched allergens
- Don't leave food sitting out at room temperature for extended periods
- Never leave cooking food unattended
- Always have good ventilation when using a gas stove
See more guidelines at USDA.gov.
Have you made this recipe? Please leave a comment and us know how much you liked it.